“Pizza sauce, words, animals of intelligence”

by misskang

What are some animals of intelligence? Barbara Ann Kipfer names a few: porpoise, fox, pig, chimpanzee, orangutan, elephant, gorilla, dog, beaver, horse, sea lion, bear, and cat.

I love the bookstore. Libraries are pretty cool, but I think I like bookstores better. Everything is strategically placed and decorated – to get me to buy something, but I think that’s what I like about it.

In anthropology back in freshman year we talked about how things in a store are strategically placed to get you to buy more stuff. The milk is put in the back of the store to make you travel through the heart of the store. It increases your exposure to the rest of the products in hopes that you’ll be “reminded” to buy other things. And of course at the check-out line, they have all the candy bars to tempt you to spend just a few more bucks.

With that in mind, when I was in the check-out line at Barnes and Nobles today, I noticed the kind of books they put there. Witty and small books they were. Some about funny mistakes other people made, love, sex, what people really “need” in life, and of course happiness. It made me pick up this book called “14,000 things to be happy about.” Its a giant list of the most random things we could be happy about, including pizza sauce, words, and animals of intelligence. As funny as this book is, it highlights the importance of being appreciative of what we have. There are so many things in this world that can bring joys into our life. More importantly, all these little joys are designed by our Heavenly Father for our happiness.

I think I’m going to start my own list. But not 14,000 – because the joys in this life are infinite 🙂

