A Little Kindness Goes a Long Way

by misskang

So, I’ve been wanting to blog for awhile, and I’m glad I finally got to it. 🙂

I love seeing contrast, the extremes at both ends of the spectrum. The bad makes the good seem oh so much better.

A few weeks ago I was in New York, and while I was there I couldn’t help but notice how I always ended up being grumpy. As most of you know, people aren’t exactly the friendliest there and its those little jerk comments that just tick me off. And the more I think about it, the more it angers me. I walk away thinking of comebacks in my head that I would never have the guts to say out loud and go on my way. I guess my point is, jerkiness begets jerkiness. Unless you make a conscious effort not to pass on the baton of unhappiness, you will be just like them.

Anyway, on my way back from my trip, I was waiting at the train station for my mom to pick me up. And while I was waiting, an old man asked me, “do you have transportation?” I told him I did, and I thanked him for asking. I remember as I walked off, it felt really good inside. I felt really thankful that he asked me, and I wanted to show kindness to someone else. Then I thought of another time where I felt similarly. I was at the printing center to print my resumes so I could go to the career expo when I noticed I had forgotten my wallet at home (and I had already printed my resumes …) I had absolutely no money on me to pay for the 80 cents of resumes I just printed off. I was so embarrassed. Then, the guy behind me in line told the cashier that he would cover it. Even if it was just 80 cents, I was touched.

I thought about these different scenarios on the way home. I thought of all the crass things people said to me on my trip and I thought about the small acts of kindness I’ve encountered. What a difference! It’s like on a scale from -10 to 10. The bad being the -10 and the good being the 10. The 10 is valued more than “10” because there’s always the potential to be a -10. And the -10 is not just a -10, because there’s always the potential to be a 10. Does that make any sense?

Anyway, everyday we make numerous choices, I hope we all make them so that they’re on the positive side. I hope we always ask ourselves, “have I done any good in the world today?

I really miss Texas, I can’t wait to walk into Austin Bergstrom and hear the country music play 🙂 It always feels soo good inside. 🙂

