by • katherine

Marco, Polo!

Whoa, binge blogging, two posts in one day, whoa there Katherine.  And no, this isn’t about the game you play in the pool.  It is about polo though.  🙂

A few weeks ago I went to Newport and watched my first polo match.  It was … a very peaceful kind of fun.  Everyone had their picnic blankets (and food) around the field.  The people next to us had really awesome food – clams, guacamole, and other really cool looking appetizers.  If you ever want to go on a picnic and enjoy some horses – polo is for you!  If you’re looking for a super intense sport to watch … ehhh maybe not polo.  Most of the people didn’t even seem they were that into the game, but more into the social aspect of it, and they seemed to have gone to multiple polo games and knew what was going on.  Anyway, that’s just my newbie assessment.  Try it for yourself 🙂  And for those of you posh yuppies looking for a networking event to host – I would recommend this.

Definitely plan on going again.  But next time, I’m bringing better food.

Only Regrets, We Didn’t Bring a Camera! Everyone has a story…

Even more regrets – I started this post almost 3 weeks ago.  Let’s see if I can remember what I was going to write about.

—-

Melissa and I had an interesting day yesterday roaming about Boston.  We visited some burial grounds (Copps Hill and Kings Chapel), which surprisingly wasn’t as uncomfortable as I thought it would be.  These burial grounds were quite touristy.  They had sidewalks paved into them and had displays about some of the famous people of the time.

—-

Anyway, we went to the MFA afterwards and we got to look at the collections from the Ancient World and Asia.  I definitely have to say my favorites were the sculptures/statues of the Egyptian Pharaoh and his wife.  It was impressive to see at least a portrayal of a king and his wife together as equals (if I remember correctly).  I’m going there again this weekend, I’ll get some pics this time.

Lastly, we got to see Ben Zander lead the NEC Youth Philharmonic Orchestra that evening.  They played Gustav Mahler’s 9th symphony, and before they played Zander talked about the symphony and about Mahler’s life of course, and how it was his expression of the hardship in his life.  He also told us a story that he heard on the news, about a Japanese doctor who lost her entire family in the recent earthquake and worked non-stop to help her cope and get on with life.  Zander referenced this story to illustrate that it was the same way with Mahler – that he just worked and worked to deal with life’s giant lemons.  Then, I thought of Pres. Uchtdorf’s talk from General Conference (Oct. 2010) that I referenced in my previous post – that when life gets tough we need to slow down, focus on the things that matter most, and not increase our speed.  But, we also know that work is a cure for heartache and etc. I’m not sure who said it, but it makes sense.  So, I guess it just depends on the time/circumstance – sometimes ya need to slow down and figure out what’s going on, and sometimes you just gotta occupy yourself with other things until you’re better again.

Anyhoo – I felt like I heard a lot of interesting life stories that day, or at least life stories that I wouldn’t normally hear/know about.  I hope I live a life that will always have an insightful story to tell.