I’m Right, You’re Wrong, no no no, You’re Right, I’m Wrong.

by misskang

So, this post is definitely written in arrears, as this happened quite awhile ago, but I finally get to blog about it!  I love Sundays!  Albeit, super busy, restful nonetheless 🙂

There’s actually two things that were at the forefront of my mind that I wanted to blog about, but I’ll go with this one first.

So, at work I was doing my thing, going through excel sheets and trying to make sense of the schedules provided by the client.  You know, doing the “accountant-thing,” when I stumbled upon a mistake.  It seemed like one of the numbers they had claimed to be right, were wrong.  So, I kept on reviewing it, double checking to see if I missed anything, or if I had made a mistake.  Nope!  Clearly there was a mistake.  I turned to my senior, and said, “this schedule was prepared wrong!  It should have been THIS number because of xyz.”

Senior: Hmm are you sure?

Me: Yes, I’m positive, because I did exactly what they told me to do to get the number.  I did a-b-c and got d-e-f, and it’s wrong because of x-y-z.

Senior: Ok, well maybe you should talk to them about it, because most of the time when we think they’re wrong, we’re actually the ones who are wrong because we don’t understand the full process.  So you may want to go and talk to them and try to get an understanding before you call it wrong.  And sometimes they are wrong, but it’s better that they realize it themselves, so if you go and talk to them about how you were trying to get it – they’ll see they made a mistake.

Conclusion: Auditing is skill that teaches you eternal principles.  No, just kidding, but really!

Anyway, I thought it was interesting that you can take what my senior said and apply it into our regular relationships.  It reminded me of the book The Peacegiver by James L. Ferrell.  The book talks about (or at least what I got out of it) how when it comes to tough relationships, instead of expecting the other person to change, we allow the atonement to change ourselves.  And so I just thought that this experience applies the same concept.  A lot of the time when we think the other person’s in the wrong, it’s when we need to step back, evaluate ourselves, recognize our own weaknesses and then communicate.

Ok, so for those of you who were wondering WHO WAS WRONG… Haha, this is how it went down.  So we had a conference call to talk about the schedule, and it so happens that we were both right and wrong.  She realized her minor error in calculation and I realized my lack of understanding the schedule.  She explained how I was really supposed to get to the right number, and we fixed the calculation, and bwing!  We got it to work.

What a picture perfect ending, and a good lesson learned.  We’ll always learn that both parties have something to work on 🙂

Happy Sunday!

